Interviews Are Like First Dates

Hi everyone,happy Friday!

So first off I just want to let you know I didn’t get the job 😦 I received an email yesterday while in work to say they chose someone with more experience. I’ll be honest I felt shit because I was having a horrible day in work and this reaffirmed the fact I’m stuck there (for now) and I just wanted to cry. And to be fair, I really thought I was going to get the job so I got my hopes up.

It got me thinking. Why did I think I was going to get it? Because the interview went so well. They were really pleased with me. Or so I thought. And I realised it is exactly like dating! Particularly first dates. Think about it.

You decide on a time and day to meet. You think about the suitable clothes and make up to wear. How should you wear your hair? The beginning when you first meet is a little awkward but you start to settle in. You chat and think it is going well. They ask you question and you think they are really happy and interested in your answers. Perhaps they make a comment regarding if you were to be there in the future. By the end of it you are quite pleased at how well it has gone. You say goodbye and they say that they will be in touch.

The next day you are still happy about it and maybe you are replaying some of the things they had said. A couple of days pass and you still haven’t heard anything. You start to lose hope. But they seemed really happy with you. Did you say something wrong? Maybe you start to convince yourself you weren’t really interested anyway. I suppose what bothers you most is that you heard nothing when they had said they would call.

Or maybe they do call. And suggest meeting again to get to know each other a bit more. You have really high hopes. Another outfit. Figuring out your schedule again. You get your hopes even more. They don’t ask you to meet a second time unless they’re really interested right?

Well that’s what I thought. But no. Apparently whether you meet once or twice it doesn’t mean they’re interested. They may call you. They may not. And you have to just wait and see. And hope.

So did you relate that to dates or interviews? Or both??

Let me know what you think!!

Bré x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

