Guys be in the club part 1

Ok so this is a bit of a moan I suppose. While at the club last night having an awesome time, this guy came up to our table and started talking to Catherine. He said hi, and she politely said hi back and turned back to me. She didn’t turn towards him or try start a conversation and if I tried to chat to a fella and he done that I would clearly know he’s not interested. But this guy continued to stand there and try talk to her. She again just answered him and turned back to me.

That’s when he said it. He whispered in her ear and I heard her say that’s not really any of your business. I asked what he said and she told me he asked her “are you gay, straight or bisexual?” I looked at him and said why do you want to know that? He told me he wanted to know whether he should be talking to her or not. No. If she says straight that does not mean you should keep talking to her. She has politely tried to let you know that she isn’t interested in talking to you. And you continued to anyway. And she shouldn’t have to say she’s gay to try get rid of you.

It’s a catch 22 for girls and I know I’m not the only one. If Catherine had been polite and continued to chat to him and he made a move, she would have then been accused of “leading him on” or “teasing”. If she had come straight out and said “I’m not interested” he could have gotten angry calling her stuck up (or worse but it doesn’t bear repeating) because he hasn’t actually tried it on yet. (I say could have because I know not all guys would get angry but a lot of them do) I know this because it has happened to me and friends while out in a club or pub. So you’re stuck with the middle ground of trying to politely use tone and body language to get the message across which some guys just don’t get.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this but I wanted to put it out there because I know it bothered Catherine (thankfully it didn’t ruin the night and he eventually moved on).

Does this happen to you much? Let me know what you think!

Bré x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

