How to be single

Hi guys! Phew it’s been a good few days since I’ve touched base. So sorry, just been up to my eyes with a few things on and moving! I hope you all had a lovely Valentine’s Day, however you spent it. I hope you enjoy these next few posts I have for you.

I just wanted to share this little bit. Last week was Pancake Tuesday and me and Denise went down to Sinead’s because she said she would make us pancakes ha!

We started chatting and the new film came up “How To Be Single” and the tagline “If you’re not enjoying being single, then you’re not doing it right”. Now I haven’t seen the film yet (don’t worry I will let you all know when I do ha) but Denise started joking saying “fuck off don’t tell me how to feel when I’m single”. I said I agreed with the line that you should be happy while single. I mean you should always be happy. If you’re not something is wrong. But then Sinead and Denise both said they weren’t happy being single. Denise said she missed cuddling.

On a side note, I feel that this may be why Denise tends to sleep with guys straight away. Now, if you want to sleep with lots of guys that’s your business. If you are able to seperate sex and love, more power to ya. You do you boo. But I don’t think that’s what it is with Denise. I kind of feel she sleeps with them thinking it will lead to a relationship and unfortunately, so far, it hasn’t.

I’m a firm believer that if you are not happy alone, you will not be happy in a relationship. This is something you must fix yourself. Now maybe I’m just extremely lucky that I have good friends and family around me so I don’t find myself unhappy. Don’t get me wrong, I get lonely too. I think we all do. But I wouldn’t be in a wrong relationship just because I’m lonely. (As the saying goes, don’t let loneliness drive you into the wrong arms). And let’s face it, if a girl wants to be in relationship, she can. It just might not be the one she deserves. And I for one would rather be alone and happy than in a relationship and miserable (We all know that couple).

Do you agree? Let me know your thoughts.  And I will leave you with the wise words of RuPaul:

“If you can’t love yourself, how the hell you gonna love somebody else?”

Bré x

 

3 thoughts on “How to be single

  1. I can honestly say that I relate with Denise 100%. Now, I’m not stating that I have slept with every man that made an advance towards me – no. I did feel at some point in time when my self-esteem wasn’t the highest, that by having sex with a man off the rip, he would find more interest in me and want to keep getting to know me. What I failed to see was that, if a man wants to continue getting to know you, he will do it either way. Whether you give up the booty or not, there will be something in you that he just can’t stand being away from. Intimacy hurts when it occurs too early as well as too late. So you have to use your best judgement. I’m at a point in life now where I know if I have sex with a man prior to really getting to know him where my mind has been completely stimulated by him, it is going to turn into a one-night stand on my behalf. I will no longer be interested in him because the spark isn’t there..there’s nothing intriguing about him that makes me want to continue getting to know him (I think I was a douche bad in my past life).

    I hope this helps her.

    Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thanks Sabrina for your thoughts on it. As I said I do not judge her, I’ve done it myself. But I feel bad when I know that she just really wants to have a boyfriend and so far it hasn’t worked out this way for her. But thanks for your thoughts and for liking the post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

