To my Mam

Happy Mother’s day to all the mammies out there, to the children who have lost their mothers and to the mothers who have lost their children.

I think we can all agree that our mothers do more for us than we can ever thank them for. One day dedicated to them is great but obviously we should be appreciating them everyday.

Irish mammies are particularly special with their own humour and logic. They will also protect their children to no end but not afraid to take out the wooden spoon when you’re acting the maggot!

55f1d74bf7f4d9c9a0417dcb660de1511towels-set-new.gif

Today I will celebrate with my mam. Me and my sister usually go for dinner with her but this year we have decided to have something in mine. That way my brothers (4 of them) and my sister can come up with the kids and have some tea and finger food. My mam doesn’t drink so she’s not into big nights out. She prefers simple things like this, getting to see eveyone.

Thank you Mam

My mam is the strongest person I know

at 5’4″ and a little over 8 stone you wouldn’t think it.

But she has raised six children,

sometimes on her own.

She has done more for us than we have asked of her

and more than we will ever be able to thank her for.

She’s dealt with my tantrums, and moaning

and yes I was a witch sometimes (still can be).

She cooked us separate meals when we’ve asked

and has washed school and work uniforms over twenty years.

She loves animals and if she could,

she would take every dog in the pounds home.

She never has a lot but is always willing to help you out.

She refuses to visit her grand kids without sweets or a toy for them.

She has had to deal with more than I’m willing

to write about right now.

I guess that shows my weakness and her resilience.

Like I said,

my Mam is the strongest person I know.

 

 

 

 

Bré x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

