My writings on The Forest (2016)

Hi everyone!

So last night I went to see The Forest with Edie (my horror buddy). I was so excited as it felt like aaaaages since I saw a horror IN the cinema. The cinema is one of my favourite things to do, in fact as a date night I’m easily pleased with a film and popcorn 🙂

The Forest

Directed by Jason Zada, this film is based on the Aokigahara Forest in Japan. This legendary forest is also known as Suicide Forest because many people go there every year to commit suicide. I’m obsessed with stuff like that. Anything dark and mysterious gets my attention so I was looking forward to seeing what they made of this subject.

What’s it about?

Sara (Natalie Dormer) travels to Japan to find her twin sister Jess who has gone missing in the forest. Basically she refuses to believe that Jess has gone to kill herself as she says she would “know” if her twin was dead. She seeks the help of Aedan (Taylor Kinney-yes Lady Gaga’s beau) a travel journalist and Michi (Yukiyoshi Ozawa) the park guide, whose job it is to go into the forest to recover bodies. They travel into the suicide forest to search for Jess.

Sara is warned that the  yūrei (ghosts) feed off people’s sadness and that she should not go, but obviously she does or we wouldn’t have a movie. Is that what’s playing tricks on her mind or is all this really happening?

What I liked about it

There is a lot of jumpy bits but the build up and tension also causes an overall sense of fear. The concept of the movie too is great. Near the ending I began to think I wouldn’t like it but then I was surprised and loved it! (I don’t want to give anything away by telling you more)

What I didn’t like

Little things annoy me.Ok I get it, for artistic purposes they have to do certain things but if you go into a forest, known as a suicide forest, bring a f*cking torch. Hell I bring a torch to Electric Picnic! As my friend said “that’s right just bring your iPhone as a torch which will go dead in 20 minutes.” There were one or two other things that at first annoyed me but they redeemed themselves by the end!

Should you go?

Definitely! Overall it’s a scary film that keeps you guessing till the very end. If you love a good scare and general feeling of unease from a horror, this delivers. I might say that if you have been affected by suicide you may reconsider. The film is done in good taste though and does teach about the culture behind the forest’s nickname.

If like me you are intrigued those type of things here is a documentary I watched about Aokigahara Forest. It is very graphic so please watch with that in mind.

 

If you do go see it, please tell me what you think, I love talking horror!

 

 

Enjoy your day!

 

Bré x

 

Leave a Reply

