Be patient with your parents

While out with my friend yesterday we started talking about our mothers and their smartphones. I said I felt bad because I would get frustrated with my mam when she would ask me to show her how to do something. Something I thought was simple. And it is. To me. Because I have grown up with that technology. I forget that I once didn’t have a clue how to take a screenshot, or how to download a song, or how to use Facebook. We quickly forget where we once were. Not just with technology but with life in general. My friend said she was the same with her mam and we said we needed to be patient.

When I went to my parents’ house last night to visit I mentioned this conversation and said sorry for being impatient and that I would try harder. And my dad said “you may have taught Mam how to use her phone, but remember, Mam taught you how to use a spoon.” And that was it. Those simple words. Our parents (my mother in particular, for me) have taught us the most simple yet important things in life. Using a spoon, brushing our teeth, tying our shoelaces (we all know how much a struggle that was) and so many other little things. Our lives move so fast that we are now too impatient to help our parents. How to send a message or save a photo from Facebook. Things we can live without. Correction, things our parents can live without. But they spent years teaching us things we couldn’t go through life without. It reminds me of this photo I once saw online.

eb431d03456076797cd281d0f328ba41

How true eh?

So please be patient with your parents. I’m going to try a lot harder to be patient with mine.

 

 

Bré x

6 thoughts on “Be patient with your parents

Leave a Reply

