My writings on TheJungle Book

Hi everyone, hope you’re having a nice weekend.

I went to see the new Jungle Book with my friend Rose. I will point out that my nephews didn’t want to go because they’re “not babies” (8 & 12).

 

What’s it about?

A CGI packed, star studded, 2016 version of Rudyard Kipling’s famous story. Bill Murray, Idris Elba, Ben Kingsley, Scarlett Johansson and Christopher Walken star. Mowgli is played by the young Neel Sethi. I feel there’s no need for a description but for those living under a rock it is about a man cub who lives in the jungle with his animal family.

What I liked?

The CGI is amazing for the most part. Neel does a great job as Mowgli. It is a modern tale of a classic. It is fun to see your childhood favourite come to life. My favourite was Bagheera (also in the classic). The film overall is brilliant.

What I didn’t like?

There was one bit where I thought the CGI looked really bad. And there was not enough interaction with the elephants for my liking compared to the original (if you’ve seen it you will know what I mean) There were a few other parts where the film does not stay true to the original, and I have a thing about films being remade and not sticking to the story.  I did not like the ending. Enough said.

Should you go see it?

Yes definitely! The kids (who like going to the cinema-my nephews don’t) will love it. Beware there are a few jumpy parts but they add to the fun. Also, we weren’t the only adults who went to see it. Remember, this was a childhood favourite for people of all ages. I still prefer the original however and if for some insane crazy reason you haven’t seen it? Go, watch it! Here’s the trailer 🙂

 

 

Bré x

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My writings on TheJungle Book

  1. I watched the trailer, and wondered what it was going to be like. I’m holding out every bit of hope I have left that they haven’t ruined Pete’s Dragon…

    Like

Leave a Reply

