Why am I single?

Recently someone (a guy) asked me how was I still single, because I seem really cool. This isn’t the first time I’ve been asked. I find guys ask this because they think it’s a compliment, maybe they think I’ll gush and fall for them. But this isn’t the way to impress me or get my attention. I can’t recall a single woman asking me this question. And I find it hard to believe that men get asked this question often.

It got me thinking anyway. When people ask this question I feel it implies that the only reason someone can be single is because a “suitor” hasn’t chosen to be with them. Nothing to do with our choices. I’ll be honest it does make you think “Wait why am I single? What’s wrong with me?” And so I came up with some reasons why I’m single. You can pick one or all of them, because they’re all true (at some level).

Why am I single? Because:

  • I want to be
  • I have high expectations
  • Of wrong choices I have made with men
  • Of mistakes I’ve made
  • I find it hard to trust
  • I haven’t found ‘the one’
  • I haven’t found someone I can put up with
  • I haven’t found someone who loves horror as much as me
  • I haven’t found someone who loves me enough
  • I haven’t found someone who’s not a massive dickhead
  • I fear commitment
  • I’m not emotionally or mentally stable enough right now for a relationship
  • I’m too young to settle down
  • I’m too old to waste time on fuckboyz
  • I’m still trying to get my own life together without worrying about another person too
  • I sometimes don’t have enough time to shower and eat never mind have to put time in with another person
  • I like flirting and enjoy my little crushes
  • I can’t commit to owning a dog right now never mind a human
  • Of my friends who are in horrible relationships
  • I don’t put up with shit anymore

So there we are. Some reasons why I’m single right now. Maybe next time a guy asks me I’ll send them this list and see if they’re still interested haha!

 

 

Bré x

4 thoughts on “Why am I single?

Leave a Reply

