My writings on Nocturnal Animals

Hi everyone, I know I haven’t graced you with a movie review in a while so here you go!

 

What’s it about?

Amy Adams stars as Susan, a gallery owner who receives a manuscript from her (estranged) ex husband Edward, played by Jake Gyllenhaal. He names it Nocturnal Animals, which refers to Susan and her inability to sleep. Along with the manuscript is an invite to dinner while Edward is in town. Susan soon becomes caught up in the novel, which is to be quite honest, disturbing (I’m not going to ruin it for you). It leaves you wondering the end of the story and of course, will she say yes to dinner.

What I liked about it?

Oh my God, it is so dark. It is so disturbing. I loved it. Oh and it has Michael Shannon in it.

What I didn’t like?

There was nothing I didn’t like about it. The cast was great. The ending wasn’t what I was expecting but it was the right ending overall.

Should you watch it?

OK, if you like thrillers and disturbing, haunting movies then yes, because you’ll love it. But if that might not be your cup of tea, you might want to avoid it.

If you have seen it please let me know what you think.

 

Bré x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

