Friday Fiction Challenge with Ronovan

Hi all! I came across a writing challenge on a fellow blogger’s page and thought I’d try my hand at it! (You can find it here if you would like to have a go! https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2016/02/19/friday-fiction-with-ronovan-writes-prompt-challenge-14-youve-been-given-a-message/ ) I hope you enjoy!

You’ve just been handed a message that makes you drop to the floor, trembling uncontrollably.

He took my hand as if to shake it but slipped what felt like a small pin into my palm. The tall figure disappeared into the crowd before I even realised it had pricked my skin. My hand shook as I dropped it to the ground. The bang it made pierced my ears. My eyes went fuzzy and the world went sideways.

I woke in a cold sweat. I was back in my hotel bed. My eyes adjusted to the dark and I saw Ellena coming to my side. “Morgan, you gave us such a fright.”
“What happened?” I sat up in the bed, pain jolting through my body.
“You collapsed at the speech. Your body was trembling, I thought you were having a seizure.”
The dark haired stranger came to mind. “The guy.. in the suit and tribly hat. Did you see him?”
“No? Did he do this to you?”
“He..he handed me something. I thought he had come up to shake my hand, say hello after the talk.”
Looking back, a guy in a trilby hat would have looked odd inside a small book store. How did noone notice him? Ellena took out her phone.
“I’ll call the store, get them to look back at the CCTV, see if they caught anything. Morgan.. do you.. do you think he was sending a -”
“Yes.”
There was no doubt in my mind. This was a message alright, from Firion. Ellena, like most who knew him were afraid to speak his name, like some sort of real life Voldemort. I knew he would come after me once I started talking. I also knew he would do anything to stop me.
“So, what do you want to do? Do you think you will be able for the rest of the tour?”
I placed my feet on the floor, wincing.
“I’ll be fine. I can do this. Because it needs to be done.”
Firion had silenced me for as long as I can remember. The fear disguised as respect embedded in me as a child. Not anymore.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fiction Challenge with Ronovan

      • No, I have no clue if I will be able to get mine done. On cell app right now computer issues. Getting a new one soon. But, typing all that via cell app is like texting!! Ughhhhh lol slow for process. If I don’t make it by deadline I will still put something in comments and read others. Ronovan’s Friday fiction is a good way to improve writing skills for sure. Did you see his links on dialogue tags and stripping flash fiction? They gave me insight on this challenge.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Very nice. I’m hooked. Would love to see what happens next. I try to create a prompt that is open to interpretation, so maybe you can continue the story. 🙂 Unless this is part of one you’ve been working on already. Told just the right amount. No excess. Loved it.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 No I just thought of it when I saw your post on Friday. I was worried it was on the low side of 600 but I didn’t want to put anymore to it so I’m happy that you that it was good. I think I will have to try continue it. It was real fun, I look forward to the next one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • The word count is normally a suggested, as I don’t want to stop someone in the middle of their creativity. 🙂 I write what I write, then try to ‘cut the fat’ as I call it. But you nailed it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great start to the story. I’d like to know what happens next, does the security see him, why would he stop her telling her story, all very exciting teasers! I’m very new to RonovanWrites Fiction prompt too but his advice is superb and I’m amazed at the variety of stories that appear each week :). KL

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment